Minutes of the Second meeting of Board of Governors (BoG) held at 7.00 pm on 4th August 2019 at Meeting Hall, Muarya In, Kurnool

Members Present:

1. Prof H A Ranganath, Chairman, IIITDM, Kurnool 2. Prof K N Satyanarayana, Director, IIT, Tirupati -- Member 3. Prof D Janakiram, Dept of CSE, IIT, Chennai -- Member 4. Prof Banshidhar Majhi, Director, IIITDM, Kancheepuram -- Member 5. Prof Aparjita Ojha, Professor of CSE, IIITDM, Jabalpur -- Member 6. Smt. Sashi Sairaman, Director, MTC MTAB Technologies, Chennai -- Member -- Member/ 7. Prof DVLN Somayajulu, Director, IIITDM, Kurnool

Members Absent:

- 1. Shri K Vijayanand, IAS, Principal Secretary
- 2. Dr Sukhbir Singh Sandhu, AS(TE) Bereau Head, MHRD, Delhi
- 3. Prof N V Ramana Rao, Director, NIT, Warangal
- 4. Prof M Chandrasekhar, Director, IIM, Visakhapatnam
- 5. Dr B K Murthy, Scientist G, Meity, Gol, New Delhi
- 6. Sri Venkata Narasimhan Peri, Founder & CEO, Cognitive care, Hyderabad

General Discussion:

The Chairman welcomed the members to the Second Board of Governors (BoG) Meeting of IIITDM and thanked members for attending this meeting and requested all members to attend the first convocation of the institute scheduled to be held on 5th August 2019 at the Institute seminar hall.

Later the Board discussed the Agenda items and the following decisions are taken.

BOG-2(2019)-01	To confirm the minutes of the First meeting of Board of Governors of Indian Institute of Information Technology, Design and Manufacturing, Kurnool held on 15 th April 2019 at C-DAC, Shamshabad, Hyderabad
	Resolution: The Minutes of First meeting of the Board of Governors held on 15 th April 2019 were circulated to all members of the Board. As there were no comments received from the members, the board resolved to confirm the minutes of the First meeting.
BOG-2(2019)-02	To consider the action taken report on the resolutions of First Board of Governors Meeting held on 15 th April 2019 at C-DAC, Shamshabad, Hyderabad

Secretary

	Resolution:
	The action taken report on the proceedings of the meeting of first Board of Governors held on 15yn April 2019 was presented to the Board.
	The Board noted the action taken by the institute.
BOG-2(2019)-03	To consider and approve the list of undergraduates for the award of degrees during the First Convocation of Indian Institute of Information Technology, Design and Manufacturing, Kurnool scheduled to be held on August 5, 2019:
	The students graduated in the academic year 2018-19 (admitted batch of 2015-16) will be receiving degrees in the First Convocation scheduled to be held on August 5, 2019 at Institute Seminar Hall. As per the recommendations of Chairman, Senate, a total of 42 undergraduate students are receiving their degrees as detailed below on August 5, 2019:
	Computer Engineering 22
	Computer Engineering23Electronics and Communication Engineering19
	Total 42
	Resolution: The Board, after due deliberation, RESOLVED to approve convening of
	First Convocation of the institute on 5 th August 2019 and also to award degrees to all eligible under graduate students.
BOG-2(2019)-4	 Any other item with the permission of Chairman: a) Ratification of HEFA Application: Institute has submitted an application to HEFA by taking necessary approvals from BWC and FC for for ongoing and proposed construction works at the institute in the month of June 2019. Upon inspection of technical committee and recommendations of Board of HEFA, grant of Rs 218 crores form to seek funding of Rs 218 crores (Rs 31 crores for ongoing and Rs 187 crores for new projects). It is requested Board to permit to open necessary accounts, deposit an amount of Rs 10,01,630/-(ten lakhs one thousand six hundred thirty rupees) towards charges for hypothecation, term load agreement, escrow agreement and purchase of stamp papers, and sign agreement copy by the Director on behalf of IIITDM, Kurnool. b) CPDA for faculty c) New Pension Scheme for staff d) CGHS for staff e) National Academy Depository f) Submission of proposal to MeitY for CoE establishment g) Introduction of Gold medal for topper among girls of B Tech programme offered by Department of CSE: Prof D V L N Somayajulu, Director of

Medal on the name of his mother for overall topper among girl undergraduate students of Department of Computer Science and Engineering, IIITDM, Kurnool. The title of the endowment Medal name is " Durvasula Manikyamba Memorial Gold Medal ". <u>Resolutions:</u>
Board, after due deliberation, has approved with suggestions/modifications
as follows for items (a) to (g) of BOG-2(2019)-4:
(a) Ratified HEFA application and approved to open necessary accounts,
deposits and signing of agreement with HEFA for ongoing and new construction projects of IIITDM, Kurnool.
(b) Approved to follow CPDA rules of IIITDM, Kancheepuram for permanent faculty of the institute.
(c) Approved to submit the NPS application form.
(d) Approved to provide CGHS facility as per MHRD guidelines.
(e) Approved to upload degrees into NAD.
(f) Board has noted the initiatives regarding setting up of CoE and advised to submit the application later to Meity as several approvals and registrations are needed.
 (g) Board has appreciated initiative taken up by Prof D V L N Somayajulu, Director, IIITDM, Kurnool and approved in principle to constitute the Gold medal. In addition, board suggested to create Endowment and corpus account at the institute and advised to put the donations in FDR and use the interest money to award Gold medal from next year onwards. As this is first Convocation, it is decided to charge complete cost of the Gold medal from the donor.

Board also suggested the Director to present annual accounts and audit reports with necessary approvals from Finance Committee (FC) at the earliest. In addition, Board suggested to advertise un-filled posts of non-faculty immediately and identify few senior faculty to guide the young faculty of various departments and place the same before the next meeting of the BoG.

Meeting ended with vote of thanks from the Secretary thanking all the board members for sparing their valuable time and providing suggestions and directions for the growth of the institute.

Secretary, BoG

Chairman, BoG